The story of Hajar al-Aswwad and its installer

In His Name and With the Remembrance of His Last Hujjat (a.t.f.s.)

kabah_interior


This is a wonderful incident of Jafar bin Mohammad, who was a great Muslim scientist and it proves no matter how much the world tries to deny the presence of Imam Mahdi (a.t.f.s.) —  the truth manifests it self. The article is in first person and first appeared in Young Muntazir

Here read the marvelous incident, which needless to say, strengthens our belief in Wilayat of Ahle Bayt (a.s.)


Salam-un-alaykum my friends,

My name is Jafar bin Mohammad. I am known as bin Qulowiah. I was born in Qom during the minor occultation (Ghaibat-e-Sughra). I grew up and learnt Islamic sciences until I became a famous Islamic scientist.

I learnt the science of narration and listened to its scientists, therefore I became a famous narrator. I wrote many books which the most famous one is (Kamel al-Ziarat) about the wellness of visiting the Holy Prophet Mohammad (s.a.w.a.) and Ahlul Bayt (s.a.w.a.).

When I was young, exactly in the era of the third special deputy of Imam Mahdi (a.t.f.s.); al-Husain bin Rauh al-Nawbakhti, there was deep trouble in Islamic world. The year was 317 AH and the Qaramtians had attacked the Mecca during the Hajj and massacred many pilgrims.


Later, they uprooted the black stone (Hajar al-Aswwad) from its place and took it along with them to al-Ehsa.

Before we proceed, let me tell you a little more about the Qaramtians.

Qaramtians were a deviated group led by Hasan bin Bahram al-Janaby, who was from Iran.

Initially, he was selling flour in his city and because of his deviant ways he was sent into exile by his fellow citizens.

Janaby settled in Bahrain, which is placed at the eastern point of the Arabian Peninsula.


He started trading and soon became a famous businessman. He started attracting the people towards him and with the backing of many small groups he took over Bahrain.

He started blocking the way of pilgrims and his son attacked Mecca and brought Hajar al-Aswwad with him, like I said before.

After this introduction, you want to know my story and my relationship with Imam Mahdi (a.t.f.s.), the living Hujjah?


Listen:

In the year 339 AH, exactly 22 years after the killing of pilgrims in Mecca, I intended to go to pilgrimage, so I gathered my resources. At first, I moved from Qom to Baghdad with a caravan. When I arrived there, an important matter happened that the Qaramtians accepted to return the black stone to its original place.

This was a controversial issue, so my most important task was to reach Mecca and to see who will reinstate the black stone in its place.


Do you know why?

Because the only person can puts it back in its place, is the Imam of the time Imam Mahdi (a.t.f.s.), the living Hujjah, exactly in the same manner as Holy Prophet Mohammad (s.a.w.a.) and Imam Zain al-Abedin (a.s.) did before him.

Do you want to know what happened to them? I will start with the story of Holy Prophet (s.a.w.a.) and his putting the black stone in its place.

One year, before Holy Prophet’s (s.a.w.a.) birth, Mecca was flooded and Holy Kaaba was destroyed. The tribe of Quraysh decided to rebuild it, which they successfully did after the birth of Holy Prophet (s.a.w.a.).


When the time came to install the black stone, a quarrel broke out between the tribes as it was a matter of great honour to place the Hajar al-Aswwad.

They were at loggerheads for days and the situation in Mecca was very edgy.

Finally, one day, while sitting they agreed that whoever enters first, should be given the right to decide on the matter.

Holy Prophet Mohammad (s.a.w.a.) entered the mosque and when they saw him they were happy. They said, there can’t be anybody more truthful and trustworthy than Holy Prophet (s.a.w.a.).

Holy Prophet (s.a.wa.) arrived and the people greeted him. He stood between them and they asked him decide the matter.


He looked at the corners of Holy Kaaba, and then he looked at the sky. After a little while he said: Bring a piece of cloth for me.

They brought a cloth and Holy Prophet (s.a.w.a.) put the stone in the cloth and then he asked the leaders of all tribes to catch a corner of this cloth and lift it. They were surprised at the beauty of the judgment and accepted it willingly.


Then he (s.a.w.a.) placed the Hajar al-Aswwad in its designated place and finished the matter.

The story of Imam Zain al-Abedin (a.s.) is such that once a war broke out in his time.

Abdullah bin Zubair wanted to rise against the rule of Banu Umayyah’s led by Hajjaj bin Yousef al-Thaqafi’s.

Abdullah bin Zubair and his followers were based inside Masjid al-Haram and were fighting with Banu Umayyah’s army from there.

Hajjaj bin Yousef al-Thaqafi ordered his soldiers to destroy Holy Kaaba and they killed Abdullah bin Zubair inside Masjid al-Haram and hung his dead body there.


When the war was over, Hajjaj bin Yousef aimed to rebuild Holy Kaaba and he did. When they wanted to put the black stone in its place, Hajjaj bin Yousef al-Thaqafi asked the engineers to do that.

Every Muslim scholar who tried to put Hajar al-Aswwad in its place was unsuccessful.

After that, Hajjaj bin Yousef al-Thaqafi gathered his judges and asked them to put it in its place. They were unable to do it.

Then, Hajjaj bin Yousef al-Thaqafi summoned the hermits and asked them to do the same, but they couldn’t. Then, Imam Zain al-Abedin (a.s.) took it from their hands and said: “In the name of Allah” and he put it in its place. People started saying: Allah is the Greatest and there is no god except Allah.


After sharing the story of Holy Prophet (s.a.w.a.) and Imam Zain al-Abedin (a.s.), I would like to share with you my experience.

I was longing to see the installer of the black stone, who is our twelfth Imam, the living Hujjah, Imam al-Mahdi (a.t.f.s.).

However, I fell sick and couldn’t continue my journey as I was bed-ridden and I feared that I would sson die.


So, I asked my friend Ibn Hisham to go to pilgrimage instead of me and I gave him a letter and asked him to hand it over to Imam al-Mahdi (a.t.f.s.). I asked Ibn Hisham to ask Imam about my age and if I would die because of this illness.

I asked my friend to get the reply.


On his return, this is what Ibn Hisham had to say:

When I reached Makkah, I saw that people were talking about the return of the black stone. When it was the time, I went to the guards of Holy Kaaba, I gave them a lot of money to put me in a suitable place to see the installer of the black stone. When it was the time, the agent of the caliph tried to put it in its place, but he couldn’t. Another one tried, but he too couldn’t, and one by one started trying but they couldn’t.

My eyes were fixed at the black stone and the person who brings it. At last, a young handsome man with a wheatish complexion took the stone and put it in its place. People started shouting and saying: Allah is the greatest and there is no god except Allah. The young man got out of that place and I started following him pushing the people until some people thought that I was insane.


They opened the way for me while I was walking fast.

My eyes were fixed at the young man until he got into a street. The young man was walking slowly but even though I was walking fast I couldn’t reach him. When we arrived at a place, which nobody was there, he stopped, turned around and looked at me.

Imam Mahdi (a.t.f.s.): Give me the letter which you have brought.

I got surprised and told myself: how did he know that I have the letter?


So I got the letter out of my packet and gave it to him. Without reading the letters he said.

‘Tell the writer of the letter not to be afraid of his illness. He will die only after thirty years.’

I didn’t believe what I had heard. I started crying because of Imam’s presence.

Then he left me and went. I couldn’t move from my place because of I was in a state of shock.


After that, I went back to Baghdad and told Sheikh bin Qulowiah the story. He cried and recovered from his illness. After thirty years, Bin Qulowiah fell ill, died in the year 369 AH, and was buried beside the shrine of Imam Musa al-Kadhim and Imam al-Jawad (pbut) in Baghdad and his grave is still there.

Thank you for reading my story. Please don’t forget to pray for the early reappearance of our Imam Mahdi (a.t.f.s.)


 

Leave a Reply

