How often do Muslims pray

There are five daily obligatory prayers. These are the dusk prayer (Maghrib), night prayer (Isha), dawn prayer (Fajr), noon prayer (Zuhr), and the afternoon prayer (Asr). Besides these there are a few other prayers that should be performed only on certain occasions, but not regularly, like the prayer at the burial ceremony of a Muslim who has passed away, the prayer on two specific Islamic festivals (called “Eid”), etc.

Other than these, one can pray whenever he or she desires, but these are counted as supererogatory prayers. Basically, Muslims must offer the five daily prayers (these are obligatory), but there is no limit to how much extra a person can pray.


Read more here ->


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s